The inaugural class of the Hattiesburg Hall of Fame pictured, from left, Harold Jackson, Robert O'Neal Tatum, Rick Cleveland, Jimmy Carpenter (representing the family of the late James Ray Carpenter, Jamal Knight (representing the family of the late Ensign Jesse L. Brown), Purvis Short, Dr. Walter E. Massey, Abb Payne, Debi Myrick (wife of the late Bobby Myrick), Dr. Martha Dunagin Saunders, Douglas W. Rouse, M.D., Jennifer Ingram Johnson (representing the legacy trust of the late Gov. Evelyn Gandy), Craig Wiseman, and Dr. Johnny L. DuPree.


The Hall of Fame inductees and their guests met for an orientation session and media event at the Hotel Indigo on the morning of October 4, 2018.

Our  mission:  To provide the resources for today's learners and tomorrow's leaders to excel.

‚ÄčThe Hattiesburg Public School District Foundation is proud to present the inaugural class of the Hattiesburg Hall of Fame. The members of the 2018 Class of the Hall of Fame have distinguished themselves by their accomplishments in a variety of fields and their contributions extend well beyond the boundaries of Hattiesburg.  These alumni of Hattiesburg's public schools are testaments to the value of public education. 

Hattiesburg Public School District Foundation


Following the rehearsal, the Hall of Fame inductees and their guests were treated to lunch at the Blu Jazz Cafe in Downtown Hattiesburg.


After the orientation session, the Hall of Fame inductees and their guests were taken to the Eureka School Museum in Historic Downtown Hattiesburg for a rehearsal session in preparation for the Hall of Fame gala.